Lifestyle

Embrace What You Hate

Not a person who gets personal or into their feelings but this week I am. Growing up I HATED my natural  – honestly up until a year ago I hated it. I thought straight hair was the way to be and that curly/ frizzy hair was ugly (well mine was). Maybe it is because I am 23 and realizing I can’t change the thing I dislike about myself but only embrace them.

As young women we have to stop beating up on ourselves about things that don’t matter. I know at 16 they feel as if they are the most important in the world but they aren’t! I also think it helps to be with a person and or have friends who lift you and not bring you down. Having a boyfriend who tells you he loves the things about you that you hate can help make you feel better. Now don’t get all ” you don’t need a man to make you feel good about yourself” – I agree you don’t. But when there are certain things about yourself you hate, hearing someone tell you they like those things might help you with your confidence.

tumblr_nxcv54foz81u2k0j0o1_500

This week I decided to embrace the things I try to usually hide. For instance – I am not a HUGE make up person but I do wear concealer everyday with blush and mascara almost everyday – this week I didn’t . Also, I wore my hair naturally all week – 50% because I didn’t feel like doing it but whatever. By doing this I felt a little bit better about myself – sometimes I did want to run to the bathroom real quick and put on some mascara but I didn’t. I embraced these two things that I worry about constantly and didn’t care what anyone thought.

I am not preaching to you to go out and not wear makeup for a week and not do your hair. But to find something that makes you insecure and value you it more than you have before.

tumblr_ml9g25ri0k1rkf5r6o1_500

 

Xx,

J

 

Standard

3 thoughts on “Embrace What You Hate

  1. authengrace says:

    Hey Jasmine, Great message here! I think this is an unfortunate daily struggle for women of all ages but we can either hate X or truly embrace what we were given. I agree that though we don’t ( well shouldn’t) need someone to tell us those things, it totally makes you feel a little better. Hope you have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yvette says:

    Great Message and must needed. We all struggle with something and until we start to embrace it – we allow it to continually bring us down. Please continue to send us all message of encouragement.

    Like

Leave a Reply

